Loading... Please wait...
  • The Grapes of Wrath. Brave New Waves Session. Vinyl.
  • The Grapes of Wrath. Brave New Waves Session. Vinyl.
USD $7.00

The Grapes of Wrath. Brave New Waves Session. Vinyl.

In stock.
Current Stock:

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

  • Never before released commercially

  • Originally recorded in 1988, in CBC Studio 13, Montreal

  • Classic Treehouse tour line-up: Chris Hooper, Tom Hooper, Kevin Kane and Vincent Jones.

  • Vincent Jones regularly tours with Sarah McLachlan, David Gahan, and Morrissey

  • Curated by Kevin Komoda (Rational Youth)

  • Includes a post-session interview with the band and host Brent Bambury

  • Includes acoustic bonus tracks from a CBC Velour session

  • The Grapes of Wrath are active performing live shows in Canada

  • The session includes cover versions of hits by The BandPink Floyd, and Nirvana.

On one of the earliest Brave New Waves sessions, The Grapes of Wrath performed cuts from their then-new Treehouse album, adding cover versions to kick things off in Studio 13, Montreal. A few years later, they would be invited once again to do an acoustic set, this time in promotion of the 1991 album These Days.

The CBC sessions capture the Grapes in their youth, full of energy and excitement, with a jam-like quality to the music that is less apparent on the album versions. The sessions have never been released commercially.

The Grapes of Wrath formed in 1983 and signed to Nettwerk Records the following year. Their albums Treehouse, Now & Again, These Days and the 2013 High Road are classics in Canadian rock, spawning such hits as “Peace of Mind” and “I Am Here.” 

The Grapes of Wrath’s Brave New Waves Session was recorded on May 25th, 1988. The recording is taken from the original CBC Archives’ tape and remastered at Grey Market Mastering in Montreal, by Harris Newman.

Track Listing

1 The Weight
2 See Emily Play
3 Amused
4 At Your Soul
5 Didn’t You Say Something
6 Breaks My Heart
7 Misunderstanding
8 A Very Special Day
9 Backwards Town