Loading... Please wait...
  • The Afghan Whigs. In Spades. CD.

Hey! Why not try to SPECIAL ORDER this item!

The Afghan Whigs. In Spades. CD.

Ships in 2-3 weeks
Current Stock:
This item is no longer available.

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

“Cleromancy” isn’t a word one normally finds in rock lyrics. Then again, In Spades – the forthcoming album by The Afghan Whigs, from which the new song “Oriole” hails – is defined only by its own mystical inner logic. The term means to divine, in a supernatural manner, a prediction of destiny from the random casting of lots: the throwing of dice, picking a card from a deck. From its evocative cover art to the troubled spirits haunting its halls, In Spades casts a spell that challenges the listener to unpack its dark metaphors and spectral imagery.

On the one hand, In Spades is as quintessentially Afghan Whigs as anything the group has ever done – fulfilling its original mandate to explore the missing link between howling Midwestern punk like Die Kreuzen and Hüsker Dü, The Temptations’ psychedelic soul symphonies, and the expansive hard-rock tapestries of Led Zeppelin and Lynyrd Skynyrd. At the same time, this new record continues to push beyond anything in the Whigs’ previous repertoire – another trademark, along with the explosive group dynamic captured on the recording.

Indeed, the chemistry of the lineup – Dulli, guitarists Dave Rosser and Jon Skibic, drummer Patrick Keeler, multi-instrumentalist Rick Nelson, and Whigs co-founder/bassist John Curley – set the tone for In Spades’ creation. When it came to follow up the band’s triumphant return to recording – Do To the Beast, which was the band’s first ever Top 40 album, – the die was cast. “This is the first time since Black Love [the Whigs’ 1996 noir masterpiece] that we’ve done a full-blown band album,” Dulli says.

The joys, sorrows, and upheavals of innocence and experience echo throughout In Spades: it powerfully documents where The Afghan Whigs have been, and where they might go next. For Dulli and Curley, it’s a journey that, since their origins as one of the first Sub Pop acts to be signed from outside the label’s Pacific Northwest base, has spanned decades. Dulli notes they were barely in their twenties when they first started the band, and yet here they are, fulfilling dreams long held and frequently realized. “Having a break from the Whigs helped me remember what made it so rewarding,” Curley says. “Over the course of a lifetime, there are constants, and there’s also change. You see who’s dropped off the vine – who’s going in reverse, and who’s still by your side. It’s interesting to see where life takes you, and where it doesn’t. That’s the journey and it hasn’t stopped.”

In Spades was recorded at Rick Nelson’s studio Marigny Sound in New Orleans, LA.

Product Videos

The Afghan Whigs - Oriole [OFFICIAL VIDEO] (04:39)
'In Spades' (release date: May 5, 2017) Buy: Sub Pop Mega Mart* https://u.subpop.com/2p0ZBBn *Customers who pre-order the LP version of 'In Spades' from the Sub Pop Mega Mart will receive the album on Loser Edition white-colored vinyl, while supplies last only. Buy: iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/in-spades/id1203055216?ls=1&app=itunes The Afghan Whigs: https://afghanwhigs.com/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/theafghanwhigs Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheAfghanWhigsOfficial/ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/theafghanwhigs/ on Tour: https://www.subpop.com/tours/the_afghan_whigs Sub Pop Records https://www.subpop.com Twitter https://twitter.com/subpop Facebook https://www.facebook.com/subpoprecords SoundCloud https://soundcloud.com/subpop MegaMart https://megamart.subpop.com/ Podcast https://subpop.fm/ Subscribe To Sub Pop's YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/subpoprecords VIDEO CREDITS Director: Amy Hood http://www.iplcreative.com/ Video Production House: Baby Panther Video Producer: Avtar Khalsa https://www.avtar.tv Editor: Michael Bloch https://www.michaelbloch.tv Director of Photography: Dan Sharnoff https://www.dansharnoff.com B Camera Operator: Michael Bloch Stylist: Jennifer Gira Makeup: Paige Campbell Hair: Kirsten Bode Animal Masks: Brandon Davey Catering: Carlos Salazar CAST Naïve Hero: Amy Hood Cult Leader: Kaylee McKeny Cult Girls: Jessica Lucci, Kirsten Bode, Paige Campbell, Claudia Felix, Jazmin Labrie, Buffy Kane Sacrifice: Summer Minerva
  • The Afghan Whi...
    'In Spades' (release date: May 5, 2017) Buy: Sub Pop Mega Ma...

Track Listing

1. Birdland
2. Arabian Heights
3. Demon in Profile
4. Toy Automatic
5. Oriole
6. Copernicus
7. The Spell
8. Light as a Feather
9. I Got Lost
10. Into the Floor