Loading... Please wait...
  • Rheostatics. Brave New Waves Session. Blue Vinyl.
  • Rheostatics. Brave New Waves Session. Blue Vinyl.
USD $19.98

Rheostatics. Brave New Waves Session. Blue Vinyl.

Current Stock:

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

  • The inaugural Brave New Waves session!

  • Never before released commercially -- only tape bootlegs exist

  • Originally recorded in 1988, in CBC Studio 13, Montreal

  • Rheostatics’ classic line-up: Dave Bidini, Dave Clark, Martin Tieli, Tim Vesely

  • Dave Bidini of the Rheostatics was Brave New Waves host in the early 90s 

  • Curated, and with live keyboards by Kevin Komoda (Rational Youth)

  • Includes a post-session interview with the band and host Brent Bambury

  • Includes two bonus tracks from a CBC Velour session

  • The Rheostatics famously released their CBC Nightlines Session in 1998

  • The Rheostatics performed several reunion shows throughout 2016-17

Although Brave New Waves had had guest artists perform in-studio since the show’s first year on air (1984), the idea to do regular sessions with primarily Canadian bands was not made a reality until February, 1988, when the now infamous Studio 13 was ready in Montreal.

Invited to do Brave New Waves’ inaugural session in the newly built studio was the Rheostatics, and so it is only fitting, nearly 30 years later, that the first-released Brave New Waves Session is also the same band, and a band that symbolizes Canadian music and the Canadian imaginary.

Formed in 1978, the Rheostatics, best-known for their mid-90s hit “Claire” are consistently rated as one of Canada’s greatest bands, and their albums, including Whale Music, Melville, and Introducing Happiness amongst Canada’s best. Many of the band’s best-loved songs, such as “Dopefiends and Boozehounds” and “Christopher,” appear in early, raw versions on this session.

The Rheostatics’ Brave New Waves Session was recorded on February 7th, 1988. The recording is taken from the original CBC Archives’ reel and remastered at Grey Market Mastering in Montreal, by Harris Newman.

Track Listing

1 Dopefiends and Boozehounds
2 Good on the Uptake
3 Lyins Wrong
4 Christopher
5 King of the Past
6 Crystals
7 4 Upright Walls
9 Guy Lafleur
10 Chanson Les Ruelles
11 interview