Loading... Please wait...
  • Land of Giants. Cannibal Dolls / Seven Men. CD.
USD $11.42

Land of Giants. Cannibal Dolls / Seven Men. CD.


Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

In the late spring of 1982 an electro-pop band from Canada calling themselves Land of Giants released an independent 12" single called Cannibal Dolls / Seven Men. Land of Giants featured the talents of Henryck Jesiak, John Tucker, Anya Varda and Marc Wonnacott. The single went on to receive respectable radio play on college radio (where it reached #1) and on alternative radio stations in Canada and abroad. John Peel even played it on his BBC show!

Although interest in Land of Giants included the likes of producers Rusty Egan (Visage) and Midge Ure (Ultravox), the band never released any other material. Several tracks were recorded, however, and these included an early rap fusion, Fire with Fire, that had John Tucker rapping alongside Anya's vocals, as well as Kenny McLean of Platinum Blond fame on backing vocals. After its initial success as a dance floor hit, the original single garnered a small but extremely loyal following around the world, and little did the band know they would be considered pioneers of the "Cold Wave / Minimal Electronic" scene more than 30 years later. Prices for the 12" have reached almost $300 on eBay and demand continues to grow amongst collectors.

This CD collects "Cannibal Dolls," "Seven Men," and 8 more original songs recorded (but unreleased) by the band between 1982 and 1985. In addition, the band's cover of "I Got You Babe" appears.

Product Videos

Land Of Giants -- Cannibal Dolls / Seven Men 12'' (08:21)
Label: AV Records Format: Vinyl, 12" Country: Canada Released: 1982 Artwork By [Cover Design] -- Land Of Giants Engineer, Programmed By, Synthesizer -- John Tucker Photography [Cover] -- George Whiteside Synthesizer -- Henryck Jesiak Synthesizer, Vocals -- Marc Wonnacott Vocals -- Anya Varda Written By -- H. Jesiak, J. Tucker, A. Varda, M. Wonnacott The original land of giants release, from June 1982. Only 1000 pressed. 200 sold in Europe. Recorded At Keen Studio
  • Land Of Giants...
    Label: AV Records Format: Vinyl, 12" Country: Canada ...
  • Land Of Giants...
    From '' Cannibal Dolls / Seven Men '' Label: ebk-ink creative ...

Track Listing

01 Cannibal Dolls
02 Seven Men
03 Thing Called Love
04 Fountains in the Rain
05 Security Squad
06 Fire With Fire
07 Room With a View
08 Key to Your Heart
09 Just Yet
10 I Got You Babe
11 I Will