Loading... Please wait...
  • Kelan Mikla. Kaelan Mikla. CD.

Kaelan Mikla. Kaelan Mikla. CD.

Special order: May take 1-4 weeks to import.

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

Kælan Mikla is a three-piece Punk/No-Wave band from Reykjavík/Island, slowly getting darker and deeper with new waves and more instruments. The band consists of three girls who perform their own poetry and have been described as an avant-garde, fresh breeze into the Icelandic music scene in the past two years. The band was formed after winning the first position in a poetry slam held by the city library in January 2013. They have since then played multiple festivals as well as touring Europe.

Kælan Mikla are known for their dark melancholic sound, most of the songs consisting only of heavy bass, drums and screams with some softer, melodic synth parts in-between. The band lyrics focus on inner confusion and their intimidating stage performance, often including performance art of some sort, is bound to leave the crowd in a melancholic trance.

Praise from a review: “This trio has moved from being a post-punk outfit of bass, drums and vocals into bold new territory. Chilling, neurotic synth loops paired with ass-end bass and some positively haunting vocals, their sound has evolved into something darker, stronger, capable of taking us from the everyday world into the gauzy barrier between us and our nightmares. Like watching a forgotten reel of film shot at a haunted house, you come away from seeing them live wondering if it’s really over, as you can still feel icy fingers reaching towards you.”

Product Videos

Kælan Mikla - Kalt (04:01)
Kælan Mikla - Kalt https://www.facebook.com/Kaelanmikla Video:Orange´Ear http://orange-ear.de Lyrics: Hún grætur milli húsasunda tárin renna milli múrsteina. Hún vonar að vorið vakni sorgin upp rakni. Afhverju er alltaf kalt? Afhverju er ljósið svart?
  • Kælan Mikla - ...
    Kælan Mikla - Kalt https://www.facebook.com/Kaelanmikla Video...

Track Listing

01 Kaelan Mikla [5:08]
02 Myrkridkallar [3:12]
03 Liflat [4:09]
04 Synir [3:05]
05 Upphaf [3:46]
06 Kalt [3:51]
07 Orad [5:19]
08 Glimmerogaska [7:20]