Loading... Please wait...
  • Celldod. Mekaniskt Gransland. Vinyl.

Hey! Why not try to SPECIAL ORDER this item!

Celldod. Mekaniskt Gransland. Vinyl.

Current Stock:
This item is no longer available.

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

Suction Records is pleased to present “Mekaniskt Gränsland,” the debut full-length release by Sweden’s Celldöd, after a series of extremely limited cassettes, and earlier in 2015, his debut vinyl EP, also on Suction Records.

There are many young techno producers discovering the power, and finding influence, in the raw and bleak electronic sounds of early industrial and EBM music, from Cabaret Voltaire and Throbbing Gristle, to Nitzer Ebb and Front 242, but few who sound as perfectly authentic as Celldöd. Indeed, Celldöd’s Anders Karlsson is not a young techno producer, but a seasoned EBM musician and fanatic, a member of bands including The Pain Machinery and Bunkersex.

“Mekaniskt Gränsland” (translation: Mechanical Twilight) is dirty, electronic dance floor music, hardware driven, mostly instrumental, and stripped to the bare bone. The album was made during long, late-night sessions, working with semi-functioning gear from the past (analogue synths and drum machines, cassette decks, old tape delays and spring reverbs) as well as new, small and inexpensive machines. Karlsson’s modus operandi for Celldöd is to keep the grit and the rough edges in the production, submitting to the beauty and power of imperfection.

The album was originally submitted as a collection of relentless, pounding EBM slammers, equal parts rigid and funky, but consistently geared to the dance floor… however, Celldöd decided to explore his ambient and experimental side as well, and the resulting interludes give “Mekaniskt Gränsland” a more ominous and storylike pace, an uncommon achievement in an album geared to the dance floor. From Celldöd: “Even though you exist in this mechanical twilight, you must try to move forward. Always. Never stand still. Just living is not enough. Do whatever it takes. If you stop you’ll drown.”

Track Listing

A1 Svart Magi
A2 Förortsångest
A3 Jag Vet Att Du Vet
A4 Impulskontroll
B1 Under Press
B2 Allting Faller
B3 Stormens Öga
B4 Kognitiv Förvrängning

Related Products

Prev Next