Loading... Please wait...
  • 16 Volt. Wisdom (Re-Issue). CD.

Hey! Why not try to SPECIAL ORDER this item!

16 Volt. Wisdom (Re-Issue). CD.

Ships in 2-3 weeks.
Current Stock:
This item is no longer available.

Product Description

**USA/CANADA CUSTOMERS: Get FREE Shipping on orders over $100 USD!**

The early ‘90s was a prosperous time for the industrial music underground, marking the transition toward a more caustic and aggressive sound. Advances in technology and production techniques allowed for a better integration of guitars into the synthesized nightmarish soundscapes and danceable clamor that defined the genre. At the forefront of this new machine rock movement was 16volt, whose 1993 debut album Wisdom helped usher in what would come to be referred to as “coldwave.” Released on Cargo Records, Wisdom remains a prime example of 16volt’s now signature blend of mechanical percussion and atmosphere with the guttural rawness of punk/rock guitars, topped off by front man Eric Powell’s acerbic shouts and sinister whispers. Sadly, the original album has been long out-of-print, available via 16volt’s website as a digital album only... until now.

Almost 20 years later, the messiahs of machine rock return to the album that started it all! In 2012, Metropolis Records releases Wisdom to the masses, remastered and featuring several never-before-heard remixes and bonus tracks. This re-release of Wisdom is a momentous occasion for fans of 16volt and industrial rock alike, a piece of underground music history that shows no signs of aging after almost two decades. Featuring production from renowned figures like Dave “Rave” Ogilvie (Skinny Puppy) and Keith “Fluffy” Auerbach (Ministry), Wisdom is not only an amalgam of the band’s early influences, but also showcases the beginning of 16volt’s evolution into ever more adventurous territory, all the while presenting a vicious coldwave assault that sounds as fresh and as menacing today as it did in 1993. Listen, rejoice, and wise up!

Product Videos

16 Volt - Wisdom (04:09)
Artist - 16 Volt Song - Wisdom Album - Wisdom
  • 16 Volt - Wisdom
    Artist - 16 Volt Song - Wisdom Album - Wisdom
  • 16 VOLT - MOTO...

Track Listing

01. Motorskill
02. Wisdom
03. Head of Stone
04. Filthy Love of Fire
05. Hand Over End
06. Will
07. Dreams of Light
08. Downtime 1
09. Motorskill (Quad - Hate Dept. Remix)
10. Dreams of Light (Nightmare - Hate Dept. Remix)
11. Filthy Love of Fire (Unreleased Dave Ogilvie Remix)
12. Black Hole (Unreleased Bonus Track)
13. Motorskill (Demo Version)

Related Products

Prev Next